Red Weather – Every Alley Wall

A lot of things happened in 2001.  Things that have changed our world.  So much happened in fact, that I wouldn’t be surprised if you missed a little EP release by Red Weather called Every Alley Wall.

I kept trying to figure out who the lead singer, Gordy Hunt, sounded like until finally, towards the end of the EP, it hit me.  He reminded me of Lindsey Buckingham from Fleetwood Mac—perhaps with a little more grit.  He has the same tone and even energy as LB (a huge compliment by the way).  I wouldn’t be surprised if he and the rest of Fleetwood Mac were a huge influence on RW’s overall sound.

Tracks three and four are the gems of the EP.  “I Wasn’t There” is a groovy and soulful little tune, reminiscent of Hall & Oates (think “Sara Smile” and “She’s Gone”).  Following this track is “Lewis and Clark”, an upbeat and tremendously catchy song that blends and crosses genres seamlessly.  “In The Key of Rock & Roll” is not my favorite on here, but I’m mentioning it on the merit of its dynamics alone.  About a minute and a half into it, the track drops in tempo and takes on a funky-as-hell bass and drum rhythm.  An electric guitar solo makes its appearance to make this a bona fide worthy listen.

The only bones I have to pick with the band have nothing to do with their actual music.  For one thing, I can’t find a whole lot of info online about them (a definite “no, no” in the age of a DIY approach to independent music).  All I found was an iTunes page.  That’s when I saw the copyright year of 2001.  Just plain shameful.  What have they been doing for ten years?  If only there was a website to keep me posted.  Other than that, I enjoyed the songs.  A talented trio, indeed.

 

 

 

~ by carlitoreviews on March 18, 2011.

One Response to “Red Weather – Every Alley Wall”

  1. We took your advice. Go to redweatherband.com for more info.

Leave a comment